Reviews

“Situated just outside of small village, Braslou. Everything on site for a relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle of normal life. Dog walks in every direction. Quiet apart from the sounds of the countryside. Felt very safe there, Covid wise as well as crime wise. Have booked to go again.”
Neil, Denise and Tia September 2020

(Translated)“The House of happiness: We had a great time at Les Lavandes. The exterior allowed us various games (Mölki, badminton, petanque) and the interior common areas are spacious enough for board and card games. Quiet house in the middle of nowhere under a magnificent starry sky. The two negative points are the deterioration of the deckchairs (2 out of 5 deckchairs were in good condition) and the absence of certain kitchen utensils which complicate the preparation of meals for 7 people (lid, pot, salad bowl, pie plate). Otherwise to redo.”
Stephanie August 2020
Our response:Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable time. We were unable to visit Les Lavandes ourselves this year due to Covid 19 and it had been our plan to purchase new sun loungers to have next to the pool. We will replace these on our next visit and we will replenish the dishes. Best wishes Kim and Chris

(Translated) “quiet location, pleasant swimming pool. Neighbors are available. several details should be adjusted to make it even better (creaky bed, lack of dishes, a few shabby areas.)”
Pierre August 2020
Our response:Thank you for your review. We are deligted you enjoyed the peace and calm at Les Lavandes, as well as the brand new swimming pool. We will look into your other comments when we next return to Les Lavandes. Best wishes Kim and Chris

(Translated) “We had a great week at Les Lavandes. We especially enjoyed the pool, hot tub and the sunsets. The area is very beautiful and there are many beautiful places to visit. The house is located in a very quiet location. The nights were stifling under the eaves. In addition, some kitchen utensils are missing: a spinner for the salad, wooden spoons, a few salad bowls and additional saucepans. More cutlery too … despite these details, we have fond memories of and will not fail to pass on this excellent address.
Guillaume August 2020
Our response:Thank you for your review, we are delighted to learn you enjoyed your holiday at Les Lavandes, and we appreciate all your feedback on the property. We are grateful for the suggested additions to the kitchen utensils, we will take all these on board when we replenish the house at the end of the season. It can be very warm in the main bedroom at night and we are investigating solutions to improve this. We hope you return to Les Lavandes in the future. Best wishes Kim and Chris

(Translated) “Pleasant stay: We spent 3 weeks in this very pleasant house despite some small adjustments to be made. The owners are very responsive and do everything to make you feel good. We will come back to Lavandes.”
Sonia July 2020

“Stayed in this lovely place for 5 days, it was a lovely experience, we couldn’t have wished for more, the house was immaculate, the grounds were lovely. We visited Chinon, Saumur and Azay-le-Rideau. The weather was great. What more could you want. Excellent.”
Joyce July 2019

“Many thanks for a relaxing 10 days in your tastefully appointed house, even if it was a tad chilly (NOT!! 42ºC!!). For wine tasting without an appointment Dom.de la Noblaie in Ligré was ideal – tasted their Pierre de Tuf 2008, climbed a ladder to peer down inside their limestone fermentation vat and they even let us look in their cellar. You can stroll among the vines too and by arrangement there is the guided tour and picnic! It’s organic too. Also Dom. Dozon in Ligré also open without appointment their Chinon Blanc is gorgeous! If anyone else is here, until the 31 Aug, Les Nuits Fantastique, a light projection show at Azay-le-Rideau is a lovely magical evening. We will miss the Donkey, Howling Hounds and Lizards. Please thank the lovely neighbour for his daily flower watering and garden maintenance! Chris’s Decanter pieces on the Loire wines very helpful – if he wants the low down on Somerset vineyards do get in touch!”
Diana, Andy and Eva July 2019

“A Spanish family of 8 invaded this b’ful house. We loved the house even though its flies. We will miss this amazing region. Loved the chateaus’ particularly “Rivau” and its secret garden of fairy tales.”
The Gratalos’ Family August 2019

“A fabulous house in a great place. We had a great week in Braslou. The farmhouse was lovely: spacious and really well equipped including fans in the bedrooms which were a real god-send! We loved the garden and the hot-tub! The weather was fabulous during our stay and it was great sitting out every evening looking at the stars but plenty of room if you needed to sit inside. Loads of footpaths locally for walking and running – great with the dog! But also really close to Chinon, Azay-le-Rideau and other Loire towns. All in all a fabulous, chilled week.”
Maria, 11 August 2018

“Thank you for an incredible stay at Les Lavandes. We have really enjoyed our holiday, it was the perfect place to come for the children’s first holiday abroad. We have really enjoyed exploring the area and a few of our favourite day trips with a 4 and 3 year old have been: zooparc de beauval, grand aquarium de Touraine/ mini chateaux and today’s trip to the family park PARC d’attractions. There has been so much to see and do.
When I ask the children what their favourite part of the holiday has been they say playing in the garden with all the cool toys �� could have saved some money on the day trips and just stayed at the house and they would have loved it just the same! The views from the garden of an evening when the sun is setting are just perfect.
The best thing for me sadly is knowing that when we arrive home on Sunday I don’t have to do 4 loads of washing as thanks to the facilities at the house I’ve managed to do it all as and when needed.
Perfect weather. Incredible area and views. Beautiful home.”
Jess, Chris Jacob and Izzy, 4 August 2018

“We arrived at your lovely house early evening yesterday and all nice and clean on arrival (garden looking greener than ours back at home)! The chilled wine was very welcome once we unpacked so many thanks. We noticed the few changes and additions you have made in the house and it all looks really nice.”
Fi, Pete and the woofers, 22 July 2018

“We had a very enjoyable holiday in the Loire Valley and were very comfortable in your lovely house (thank you for looking for my daughter’s camera).

Thank you also for the restaurant tips. We visited L’Auberge du Val de Vienne (lovely) and Le Pot du Lapin, both of which were excellent – we stayed very close to Saumur last year and can’t believe we never went to the latter then! We also did try the Moules Frites at Chez Bruno in Braslou on the first night and are pleased to report that they were indeed very good as well as being excellent value (as was the €13 bottle of Muscadet that washed them down). The food at the Auberge du Cardinal in Richelieu is also to be recommended. Fortunately I also managed to find a couple of excellent running routes in the local countryside to burn off some of the calories.”
Paul, 29 July 2017

“Our last full day here today before we set off for Le Touquet tomorrow for a few days en-route home. Enjoyed ourselves as always, very relaxing, thanks.”
Fi and Pete, 16 August 2017